Classics V


Sarah Ioannides, conductor
Anthony McGill, clarinet

Vivian Fung: Prayer
Richard Danielpour: From the Mountaintop
Schumann: Symphony No. 3 “Rhenish”

FROM THE MOUNTAINTOP TO THE RIVER. The works comprising this concert pay tribute to our collective sentiment through onerous times. Vivian Fung’s Prayer is a deeply personal commentary on the extraordinary conditions she faced during the COVID-19 pandemic. Inspired by the legacy of Martin Luther King, Jr., From the Mountaintop was written for Anthony McGill, principal clarinet of the New York Philharmonic, and is filled with vivid sadness, happiness, prayerfulness, joy and the struggles and pain felt during the Civil Rights Movement. Schumann celebrates the Rhineland in his Symphony No. 3.

  • Saturday, Apr. 30, 2022
  • Location: 901 Broadway, Suite 600, Tacoma, WA
  • Phone: (253) 272-7264
  • Time: 7:30 PM to 9:00 PM
  • Price: $24-$83
Classics V